Marquez fastest on first day at Laguna

Marquez fastest on first day at Laguna

Marc Marquez belied his lack of Laguna Seca circuit knowledge to go fastest in Friday MotoGP practice at the Californian track.

Friday, July 19, 2013 (6:32 pm)

With Laguna the only MotoGP venue that feeder categories Moto2 and Moto3 do not visit, Marquez had not tried the venue until Friday practice.

But that did not stop him taking third in the morning, and in practice two he took control halfway through the session.

The factory Honda rider ended up on a 1m22.040s, 0.229 seconds ahead of nearest rival Stefan Bradl on the LCR Honda.

Just 0.077s covered Bradl, Ducati’s Andrea Dovizioso and Valentino Rossi’s Yamaha in second to fourth places.

Morning pacesetter Cal Crutchlow was back in fifth this time.

The still-recovering Jorge Lorenzo and Dani Pedrosa both completed over 20 laps.

But while Lorenzo got up to sixth place, 0.4s off the pace and within 0.010s of Crutchlow, Pedrosa was back in 11th position, a second adrift.

Aleix Espargaro remained on top in CRT in seventh overall, ahead of Alvaro Bautista, Nicky Hayden and Bradley Smith’s prototype bikes.

The session was delayed by 20 minutes when American wildcard Blake Young had a huge high-side at Turn 5.

While Young walked away from the violent tumble, his APR-Kawasaki bounced destructively down the track, dropping fluid in the process and forcing the long stoppage.


Full results
1. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m 22.040s
2. Stefan Bradl GER LCR Honda MotoGP (RC213V) 1m 22.269s
3. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (GP13) 1m 22.284s
4. Valentino Rossi ITA Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 1m 22.346s
5. Cal Crutchlow GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m 22.457s
6. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Yamaha Factory Racing (YZR-M1) 1m 22.467s
7. Aleix Espargaro ESP Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 1m 22.531s
8. Alvaro Bautista ESP Go&Fun Honda Gresini (RC213V) 1m 22.539s
9. Nicky Hayden USA Ducati Team (GP13) 1m 22.733s
10. Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m 22.767s
11. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m 23.129s
12. Hector Barbera ESP Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 23.158s
13. Randy De Puniet FRA Power Electronics Aspar (ART CRT) 1m 23.437s
14. Alex De Angelis RSM Ignite Pramac Racing (GP13) 1m 23.973s
15. Danilo Petrucci ITA Came IodaRacing Project (Suter-BMW CRT)* 1m 24.047s
16. Claudio Corti ITA NGM Forward Racing (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 24.180s
17. Colin Edwards USA NGM Forward Racing (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 24.410s
18. Karel Abraham CZE Cardion AB Motoracing (ART CRT) 1m 24.421s
19. Hiroshi Aoyama JPN Avintia Blusens (FTR-Kawasaki CRT)* 1m 24.473s
20. Yonny Hernandez COL Paul Bird Motorsport (ART CRT) 1m 24.555s
21. Michael Laverty GBR Paul Bird Motorsport (PBM-ART CRT)* 1m 24.727s
22. Bryan Staring AUS Go&Fun Honda Gresini (FTR-Honda CRT) 1m 25.345s
23. Blake Young USA Attack Performance Racing (APR-Kawasaki CRT) 1m 25.764s
24. Lukas Pesek CZE Came IodaRacing Project (Suter-BMW CRT)* 1m 27.173s
* Standard ECU.


No comments have been posted yet

Be the first to add a comment to this page!

Add Comment

About Racinghub | Contact Us | Terms of use | Manual
Queries: 28 | Time: 0.4289
© 2021 Racinghub