Audi unveils e-tron FE04, retains di Grassi, Abt

Audi unveils e-tron FE04, retains di Grassi, Abt

Audi has taken the wraps off its 2017/18 Formula E challenger, the newly-liveried e-tron FE04, at its factory in Neuburg, with reigning champion Lucas di Grassi and Daniel Abt confirmed as its drivers.

Thursday, September 28, 2017 (4:18 pm)

Audi has been affiliated with Formula E since the creation of the category mid-2014, with the Abt team using the Audi name in Formula E, as well as having access to its facilities in Germany.


Audi ramped up its involvement in the 2016/17 season and announced in July that it had taken over the Abt outfit to become a full works team for the 2017/18 campaign.


The team has finished as runner-up in the standings across the past two seasons, and has scored six wins, all courtesy of di Grassi.


Di Grassi, who won the inaugural Formula E race in Beijing three years ago, beat Sébastien Buemi to claim the 2016/17 Drivers' title, and will defend his crown with Audi, using the No. 1 on his e-tron FE04.


Abt, meanwhile, has also been with the outfit since the creation of the championship, and has taken a best of seventh in the 2015/16 standings.


Abt will continue to race with No. 66, with minor livery tweaks on his car, compared to di Grassi, in order to aid spectators in identifying the drivers.


Allan McNish, who competed for Audi in sportscars, taking two Le Mans victories with the manufacturer, has been named as the outfit's new Team Principal.


"Together with our technology partner Schaeffler, we have developed a completely new powertrain," said Head of Audi Motorsport Dieter Gass.


"You can immediately tell this by looking at the new carbon housing of the powertrain.


"The car also sounds different because we're pursuing new avenues in technology."


Di Grassi and Abt will begin testing the car during group running at Valencia's Ricardo Tormo Circuit next week.


No comments have been posted yet

Be the first to add a comment to this page!

Add Comment

About Racinghub | Contact Us | Terms of use | Manual
Queries: 289 | Time: 0.4683
© 2022 Racinghub